MEIN ERSTER SCHULTAG

Wer bin ich?

Hallo, ich heiße Jemery Kamau. Ich lebe zusammen mit meiner Mutter und meinem kleinen Bruder im Slum Soweto. Seit mein Vater unsere Familie verlassen hat, hat meine Mutter viel Mühe, für uns zu sorgen. Sie kann uns kaum ernähren, aber es gibt kein Geld für die Schulbildung. Wir haben UNDER Lea um Hilfe gebeten und wissen was.

Ich gehe jetzt zur Schule und mit dieser Geschichte möchte ich dir von meinem ersten Tag erzählen!

Der Tag der Tage

Ich habe eine wundervolle Patin in Deutschland gefunden, die es mir ermöglicht heute endlich in die Schule gehen zu dürfen. Vor ein paar Wochen kam Bonface, von UNDER Lea’s TRUST, zu uns und hat uns die super Nachricht überbracht. Ich bin so aufgeregt!

ICH BIN SO AUFGEREGT!

Die letzte Nacht konnte ich vor Aufregung nicht schlafen und auch meine Mama ist super aufgeregt (sie hat mir statt meines Schulbuches ihren Lieblingsroman in meine Schultasche gepackt). Es ist 7:30 Uhr und es ist noch ein wenig dunkel draußen, als wir uns gemeinsam auf den Weg zur Organisation machen, wo wir mit Bonface und Lea verabredet sind. Dort angekommen darf ich das erste mal meine Schuluniform anziehen und Mama kontrolliert noch einmal ob wir auch alles eingepackt haben.

Kurze Zeit später sind wir auch schon auf dem Weg zur Schule, die nur wenige hundert Meter von meinem Zuhause entfernt liegt. Ich nehme, zusammen mit meiner Mama und meinem kleinen Bruder (noch ein Baby), vor dem Schulbüro platz, währenddessen Bonface und Lea hinein gehen und meine Anmeldung vorbereiten. Wir haben ebenfalls einen Termin bei der Schuldirektorin, da nur sie entscheidet, in welche Klasse ich komme. Da ich sieben Jahre alt bin, aber noch nie die Schule besucht habe, möchte sie mich ein bisschen testen (so wie ich das verstanden habe). Ich muss zugeben, davor habe ich ein wenig Bammel. Währenddessen wir auf die Schuldirektorin warten strömen die Schulkinder in Scharen an uns vorbei in den Hof der Schule. Einige von ihnen kenne ich und ich winke ihnen freudig zu. John, mein bester Freund (Klasse 2) setzt sich ein paar Minuten zu mir, bevor die Schulglocke läutet und alle Kinder in die Klassenräume flitzen. Lea kommt aus dem Büro. Wir haben wohl noch ein wenig Zeit, bis wir zur Direktorin können, also machen wir draußen noch ein paar Bilder für meine Patin. Ich grinse breit in die Kamera und zeige stolz meine neue Schuluniform.

AUFGEREGT & AUCH EIN WENIG EINGESCHÜCHTERT

Grade als wir wieder rein gehen, geht die Tür zum Schulbüro auf und wir dürfen ins Büro der Schuldirektorin. Ich habe einiges von ihr gehört, besonders nett soll sie ja nicht sein. Etwas versteckt hinter Mama treten wir ein und sie deutet auf vier Stühle direkt vor ihrem Schreibtisch. Dieser liegt voll mit Unterlagen und Dokumenten, diese Frau muss eine Menge zu tun haben! Zunächst versucht sie mit mir auf Englisch zu reden. Gut dass ich davon schon ein wenig verstehe und ich weiß, dass sie möchte, dass ich meinen Namen auf ein Blatt Papier schreibe. HAH! Nichts leichter als das! Oh backe.. jetzt kommt Mathe. 7 + 8 … hmm ich habe schon ein wenig Mathe in der Organisation gelernt und kritzle meine Antwort (15) hinter ihre Rechnung. Sie sieht zufrieden aus und schreibt eine zweite Gleichung auf das Papier. 4 x 6 … mist. Ich habe in der Organisation eine super Eselsbrücke für solche Rechnungen gelernt aber ich bin so aufgeregt und kann mich nicht erinnern! Wie war das nochmal? Ich rutsche von einer Seite des Stuhls auf den anderen und blicke verlegen auf den Boden. Die Direktorin schaut mich an und schreibt die Antwort „24“ hinter die Gleichung. Jaaaa das sieht aus, als könnte das korrekt sein. Meine Mutter nimmt meine Hand und möchte der Direktorin grade erklären, dass ich nur aufgeregt sei, als diese ihre Hand hebt und ihr somit bedeutet zu schweigen. Na super, jetzt schauen Mama und ich gemeinsam auf den Boden. Die Direktorin nuschelt etwas in sich hinein und scheint ein paar Minuten zu überlegen. Dann ruft sie ihren Assistenten ins Büro und gibt ihm eine Anweisung auf Englisch, die ich nicht recht verstehe. Der Assistent verschwindet wieder und die Direktorin schaut nun lächelnd zu mir.

Sie hat entschieden mich in die 1. Klasse zu stecken, da sie denkt, dass ich dort mit meinem Wissensstand am besten aufgehoben bin. Sie ermahnt mich fleißig zu lernen, immer pünktlich zur Schule zu kommen und meine Hausaufgaben gewissenhaft zu erledigen. Kein Problem! Ich warte schon ewig all das tun zu können! Es klopft und als die Direktorin „Herein“ ruft, kommt eine schmale, mittelalte Frau mit Brille durch die Tür herein. Die Direktorin stellt sie mir als meine neue Klassenlehrerin vor. Sie sieht nett aus!

AUF DEM WEG IN MEINE KLASSE

Wir verabschieden uns und gehen zu fünft, (Mama, Bonface, Lea, meine Klassenlehrerin und ich) zu einem Klassenzimmer im hinteren Bereich des Schulgeländes. Meine Lehrerin hat anscheinend ihrer Klasse eine kurze Pause erlaubt, denn aus dem Klassenzimmer kommen laute Rufe und das Lachen von anderen Kindern. Ich verabschiede mich schnell von meinem kleinen Bruder und als wir in die Klasse eintreten wird es plötzlich ganz still.

Binnen Sekunden huschen alle schnell auf ihre Plätze und schauen nach vorne. Ich erblicke ein paar bekannte Gesichter und meine Lehrerin stellt mich der Klasse vor. Ich winke schnell meiner Mama zu und setze mich an einen Rundtisch in der hinteren Ecke, neben Naomi, eine gute Freundin von mir. Puhhhhhhh!!! Bin ich vielleicht aufgeregt. Ich mache noch einige Fotos für meine Patin und dann geht es auch schon los. Mama wirft mir eine Kusshand zu und sie, Bonface und Lea verschwinden aus dem Klassenzimmer.

Der Unterricht beginnt und ich könnte nicht glücklicher sein!

VIELLEICHT INTERESSIERST DU DICH NOCH FÜR EINEN ANDEREN BLOG-ARTIKEL

EIN JAHR UNDER Lea's TRUST

Mehr als ein Jahr ist es her, dass wir unsere Arbeit als UNDER Lea's TRUST begonnen haben und wir könnten nicht glücklicher über unser Errungenschaften sein. Zusammen mit 88 Sponsoren haben wir bereits 137 Kindern eine bessere Chance für die Zukunft gegeben!

WEITERLESEN

Mein erster Tag in der Schule

Hallo, ich bin Jeremy. Ich lebe zusammen mit meiner Mutter und meinem kleinen Bruder im Soweto Slum. Ich möchte Ihnen die Geschichte von meinem ersten Schultag erzählen. Ich bin so dankbar für die Hilfe und die Liebe, sich weiterzubilden. Ich danke dir sehr!

WEITERLESEN

Endlich sind sie da!

Zusammen mit der OHLRO Hartschaum GmbH und den SV Kickers Hirschgarten haben wir ein Paket mit Kleidung und Stofftieren nach Kenia geschickt . Die Kinder freuen sich sehr über ihre neuen Kleider und Kuscheltiere und zeigen sie stolz der Kamera.

WEITERLESEN

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

de_DEDeutsch

MY FIRST DAY AT SCHOOL

Who am I?

Hi, my name is Jemery Kamau. I am living in the Soweto Slum together with my mom and my little brother. Since my dad left our family my mom has tu struggle a lot to provide for us. She barely is able to fed us, but there is no money for school education. We asked for help from UNDER Lea’s TRUST and guess what.

I am now going to school and with this story I want to tell you about my first day!

The day of the days

I found a wonderful godmother in Germany who will finally enable me to go to school today. A few weeks ago Bonface, from UNDER Lea’s TRUST, came to us and gave us the great news. I’m so excited!

SO EXCITED!

Last night I couldn’t sleep because of the excitement and my mom is super excited too (she packed her favorite novel in my school bag instead of my school book). It is 7:30 a.m. and it is still a little dark outside when we make our way to the organization, where we meet with Bonface and Lea. As we arrived there, I am allowed to put on my school uniform for the first time and my mom checks again whether we have packed everything.

A short time later we are on our way to school, which is only a few hundred meters away from my home. I take a seat in front of the school office with my mom and my little brother (still a baby), while Bonface and Lea go in and prepare my registration. We also have an appointment with the school director, as only she decides which class I will go to. Since I’m seven years old but have never attended school, she wants to test me a little (as I understand it). I have to admit, I feel a little nervous about that. While we are waiting for the headmistress, the schoolchildren run past us into the school courtyard. I know some of them and I happily wave to them. John, my best friend (grade 2) sits down with me for a few minutes before the school bell rings and all the children rush into the classrooms. Lea comes out of the office. We probably still have a little time before we can go to the headmistress, so let’s take a few more pictures outside for my godmother. I smile broadly at the camera and proudly show my new school uniform.

EXCITED PLUS A BIT SCARED! IS THAT GOOD?

Just as we are going back inside, the door to the school office opens and we are allowed into the headmaster’s office. I’ve heard a lot about her, she shouldn’t be particularly nice. We step in, me somewhat hidden behind my mom, and she points to four chairs in front of her desk. This is full of papers and documents, this woman must have a lot to do! First she tries to speak to me in English. It’s good that I understand a little about this and I know that she wants me to write my name on a piece of paper. HAH! Nothing easier than that! Oh no .. now comes maths. 7 + 8… hmm I’ve already learned a little math in the organization and scribble my answer (15) behind her question. She looks satisfied and writes a second equation on the paper. 4 x 6 … damn. I learned a great way to solve this in the organization, but I’m so excited and can’t remember! What was that again? I slide from one side of the chair to the other and look at the floor, embarrassed. The director looks at me and writes the answer “24” after the equation. Yeah, that looks like that might be correct. My mother takes my hand and wants to explain to the director that I am only excited when she raises her hand and means to her to be silent. Great, now mom and I look at the floor together. The director mumbles a little to herself and seems to think for a few minutes. Then she calls her assistant into the office and gives him instructions in English that I don’t quite understand. The assistant disappears again and the director looks at me with a smile.

She decided to put me in 1st grade because she thinks that with my level of knowledge I am in the best hands there. She admonishes me to study hard, to always come to school on time and to do my homework conscientiously. No problem! I’ve been waiting forever to be able to do all of this! There is a knock and when the director calls “Come in”, a slim, middle-aged woman with glasses comes in through the door. The principal introduces her to me as my new class teacher. She looks nice!

ON MY WAY TO THE CLASSROOM

We say goodbye and the five of us (Mama, Bonface, Lea, my class teacher and I) go to a classroom at the back of the school grounds. My class teacher apparently allowed her class to take a short break, because as I run infant of them I could hear the classroom and laughter from other children. I say quickly goodbye to my little brother and when we enter class it suddenly becomes very quiet.

Within seconds everyone scurries quickly to their seats and looks to the front. I see a few familiar faces and my teacher introduces me to the class. I quickly wave to my mom and sit down at a round table in the back corner, next to Naomi, a good friend of mine. Puhhhhhhh !!! Am I excited. I’ll take a few more photos for my godmother and then it’s off. Mama throws me a kiss and she, Bonface and Lea disappear from the classroom.

Class is starting and I couldn't be happier!

MAYBE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN ONE OF OUR OTHER ARTICLES

About us: Bonface

In this and the following blog post I will introduce you to the team behind UNDER Lea's TRUST. At the moment, there are just two of us doing most of the work, but every now and then we get help from wonderful people.

READ MORE

My first day at school

Hi, I'm Jeremy. I am living in the Soweto Slum together with my mom and my little brother. I want to tell you the story about my very first day in school I am so thankful for the help and love to get educated. Thank you so much!

READ MORE

They are finally here

Together with OHLRO GmbH and SV Kickers Hirschgarten we send a parcel packed with clothes and stuffed animals to Kenya. The children are so happy about their new clothes and cuddle toys and show it proudly to the camera.

READ MORE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blackboard77,00 €

What should we write here? A classroom without a blackboard is not a classroom.

 

Donate

Blackboard77,00 €

What should we write here? A classroom without a blackboard is not a classroom.

 

Donate

Bricks15,50 € for 10 bricks

To build our school we sure need bricks. For 155,00 € we can buy 350 bricks in Kenya.

 

Donate

Chair20,00 €

We calculate around 20 chairs per classroom.

 

Donate

Desk25,00 €

We calculate around 11 tables per classroom.

 

Donate

High bed50,00 €

We would like to teach our kids to grow their own vegetables and therefore we would like to have five high beds in our courtyard.

 

Donate

Iron sheets13,00 €

For the roof of the school, we would like to install iron sheets, with an individual value of 13.00 €. Further costs arise during the assembly.

 

Donate

Lamp10,00 €

To create a perfect study enviroment we plan to install around 6 to 8 lamps per classroom.

 

Donate

Roof3.000,00 €

For the roof of the school we need about 6,000 bricks, with an individual value of 3.00 €. Further costs arise during the assembly.

School bus20.000,00 €

In order to bring our school children safely from home to school and back, we need a school bus.

 

Donate

School clock100,00 €

To always know the time (and knowing when you're to late for class) we would like to install a school clock.

 

Donate

ShelfBig shelf: 47,00 € 

Schoolbook: 5,00 € per book

Little shelf: 3,00 € per child

Pencils: 1,60 € for 10 pencils

 

Donate

Sign50,00 €

To identify the school, we would like to put a large nameplate above the front door. Production and assembly together cost € 50.00.

Sign160,00 €

We would like to say thank you to all the sponsors and place a sign in front of the school to appreciate the donations properly.

 

Donate

Slide385,00 €

To keep our kids entertained during the break we would like to install a slide in our courtyard.

 

Donate

Solar panel1.150,00 €

To provide our school with enough electricity we would like to install six solar panels on the roof.

 

Donate

Swing385,00 €

To keep our kids entertained during the break we would like to install a swing in our courtyard.

 

Donate

Window65,00 €

To install a window in the school, we need about 65.00 €. Give the children a view.

Window120,00 €

To install a window in the school, we need about 65.00 €. Give the children a view.

 

Donate

en_USEnglish